
Mandated Reporters 
of Child Abuse

and Neglect

To report suspected child abuse 
or neglect, call toll-free

1-855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437) 
to speak with a trained specialist
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Mandated Reporters may make reports of 
non-emergent child abuse and/or neglect 
online through the DCFS website. Reports 

involving child fatalities, drug-exposed 
newborns, human trafficking, life-threatening 
injuries, sexual abuse, and/or when a child 
is in immediate risk of serious harm should 

not be made through the online portal.

www.dcfs.la.gov/MandatedReporters
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“Prenatal neglect” means exposure to chronic 
or severe use of alcohol or the unlawful use of any 
controlled dangerous substance, as defined by R.S. 
40:961 et seq., or in a manner not lawfully prescribed, 
which results in symptoms of withdrawal in the 
newborn or the presence of a controlled substance 
or a metabolic thereof in his body, blood, urine, or 
meconium that is not the result of medical treatment, 
or observable and harmful effects in his physical 
appearance or functioning.

“Caretaker” means any person legally obligated 
to provide or secure adequate care for a child, 
including a parent, tutor, guardian, legal 
custodian, foster home parent, an employee of a 
public or private day care center, an operator or 
employee of a registered family child day care 
home, or other person providing a residence for 
the child.

WHEN TO REPORT ABUSE/NEGLECT?

The Louisiana Children’s Code (Article 610) 
specifies that mandated reporters shall make 
reports immediately upon learning of incidents 
of child abuse or neglect. When you have reason 
to believe a child may have been abused or 
neglected by a parent or caretaker, contact the 
Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS).

If the child abuse or neglect is by someone other 
than a parent or caretaker, it shall be reported to 
the local law enforcement agency.

HOW TO REPORT ABUSE/NEGLECT?

• Call toll-free 1-855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437) 
to speak with a trained specialist 24 hours a 
day, 7 days a week; OR

• For reports of alleged abuse/neglect that do not 
require immediate assistance, submit a report 
online through the DCFS Mandatory Reporter 
Portal found at dcfs.la.gov; OR

• Make a report from any DCFS Child Welfare 
office.

Per Louisiana law, reports made orally must be 
followed by a written report to DCFS within five 
days. This may occur either by entering a follow-
up report online through the Mandatory Reporter 
Portal or by mailing a CPI-2 form to the DCFS 
Centralized Intake Office, P.O. Box 3318, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821. The online portal and the CPI-2 
form are available on our website, dcfs.la.gov.

WHAT IS ABUSE AND NEGLECT?

The Louisiana Children’s Code provides the 
following definitions of abuse and neglect by a 
parent or caretaker:

“Abuse” means any one of the following acts 
which seriously endanger the physical, mental, 
or emotional health and safety of the child:

• The infliction, attempted infliction, or, 
as a result of inadequate supervision, the 
allowance of the infliction or attempted 
infliction of physical or mental injury upon 
the child by a parent or any other person.

• The exploitation or overwork of a child by a 
parent or any other person, including but not 
limited to commercial sexual exploitation of 
the child.

• The involvement of the child in any sexual 
act with a parent or any other person, 
or the aiding or toleration by the parent, 
caretaker, or any other person of the child’s 
involvement in any of the following:

 - Any sexual act with any other person.
 - Pornographic displays.
 - Any sexual activity constituting a  
 crime under the laws of this state.
 - A coerced abortion conducted upon a  
 child.
 - Female genital mutilation as defined  
 by R.S. 14:43.4.

“Neglect” means the refusal or unreasonable 
failure of a parent or caretaker to supply the 
child with necessary food, clothing, shelter, 
care, treatement, or counseling for any injury, 
illness, or condition of the child, as a result of 
which the child’s physical, mental, or emotional 
health and safety is substantially threatened or 
impaired. Neglect includes prenatal neglect. 
Consistent with Article 606(B), the inability of 
a parent or caretaker to provide for a child due 
to inadequate financial resources shall not, 
for that reason alone, be considered neglect. 
Whenever, in lieu of medical care, a child is 
being provided treatment in accordance with 
the tenets of a well-recognized religious method 
of healing which has a reasonable, proven 
record of success, the child shall not, for that 
reason alone, be considered to be neglected or 
maltreated. However, nothing herein shall prohibit 
a court from ordering medical services for the child 
when there is substantial risk of harm to the child’s 
health or welfare.



“Organizational or Youth Activity Provider”:
Any person who provides organized activities 
for children, including administrators, 
employees, or volunteers of any day camp, 
summer camp, youth center, or youth 
recreation programs or any other organization 
that provides organized activities for children.

“Coaches”:
School coaches, including but not limited 
to, public technical or vocational school, 
community college, college or university 
coaches and coaches of intramural or 
interscholastic athletics.

RELATED CRIMINAL CODE PROVISIONS

La. R.S. 14:403 mandates any person who is 
eighteen years of age or older who witnesses the 
sexual abuse of a child to report the abuse to 
law enforcement or the Department of Children 
and Family Services as required by Children’s 
Code Article 610.  

La. R.S. 14:131.1 mandates any person having 
knowledge of the commission of any homicide, 
rape, or sexual abuse of a child to report such 
information to a law enforcement agency or 
district attorney, except when the person having 
such knowledge is bound by any privilege of 
confidentiality recognized by law. 
   

WHO ARE MANDATED REPORTERS?

Louisiana Children’s Code Article 603 defines 
“mandatory reporter.”  They are any of the 
following individuals:

“Health Practitioner”:  
Any individual who provides health care 
services, including a physician, surgeon, 
physical therapist, dentist, resident, 
intern, hospital staff member, podiatrist, 
chiropractor, licensed nurse, nursing aide, 
dental hygienist, any emergency medical 
technician, paramedic, optometrist, medical 
examiner, or coroner who diagnoses, 
examines, or treats a child or his family.

“Mental Health/Social Service Practitioner”: 
Any individual who provides mental 
health care or social services diagnosis, 
assessment, counseling, or treatment, 
including a psychiatrist, psychologist, 
marriage or family counselor, social worker, 
member of clergy, aide, or other individual 
who provides counseling services to a child 
or his family.

WHAT ARE POSSIBLE OUTCOMES 
FOR MANDATED REPORTERS?
Any person who is required to report the abuse
or neglect of a child and knowingly and 
willfully fails to do so shall be fined not more 
than $500, imprisoned for not more than 
six months, or both. If the abuse is sexual or 
results in serious bodily injury, neurological 
impairment, or death of the child, a mandated 
reporter who knowingly and willfully fails to 
report it shall be fined not more than $3,000, 
imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not 
more than three years, or both.  

Any person who has knowledge of the 
commission of any homicide, rape, or sexual 
abuse of child and fails to report or disclose it to 
a law enforcement agency or district attorney, 
unless bound by privilege of confidentiality 
recognized by law, shall be fined not more 
than $500, or imprisoned, with or without hard 
labor, for not more than one year or both. 

Any person 18 or older who witnesses the 
sexual abuse of a child and knowingly and 
willfully fails to report to law enforcement or 
DCFS, as required by Children’s Code Article 
610, shall be fined not more than $10,000, 
imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not 
more than five years or both. 

You may be requested to testify regarding any 
incident of which you have direct knowledge if 
the case becomes the subject of legal or judicial 
action.

State law protects the identity of all mandated 
reporters, and you are given immunity from 
legal liability as a result of reports you make in 
good faith.

“Member of the Clergy”:
Any priest, rabbi, duly ordained clerical 
deacon or minister, Christian Science 
practitioner, or other similarly situated 
functionary of a religious organization 
unless not required to report a confidential 
communication as defined in the Code of 
Evidence Article 511.

“Teaching or Child Care Provider”: 
Any person who provides or assists in the 
teaching, training and supervision of a 
child, including any public or private school 
teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional aide, 
school principal, school staff member,  
bus driver, coach, professor, technical or 
vocational instructor, technical or vocational 
school staff member, college or university 
administrator, college or university staff 
member, social worker, probation officer, 
foster home parent, group home or other 
child care institution staff member, personnel 
of a residential home facilities, a licensed 
or unlicensed day care provider, or any 
individual who provides such services to a 
child in a voluntary or professional capacity.

“Police Officers or Law Enforcement Officials”

“Commercial Film & Photographic Print 
Processor”:

Any person who develops exposed 
photographic film into negatives, slides, or 
prints, or who makes prints from negatives or 
slides for compensation.

“Mediators”:
Appointed pursuant to Children’s Code, 
Chapter 6 of Title IV.

“Parenting Coordinators”:
Appointed in a child custody case pursuant to 
R.S. 9:358.1.

“Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)”: 
CASA volunteer under the supervision of 
a CASA program appointed pursuant to 
Chapter 4 of Title IV.


